General Update

So I’m in college. Yes, nothing new.

I’m in college and I’ve finished mid-terms. Great!

I’m in college and we’re started 2 term papers. Not so great.

Life has been pretty hectic lately. Balancing school, writing, reading, and attempts to maintain a society life has proven to be difficult, but I’m making it work. Sadly, one of the things that I still forget about doing when I do get free time is blogging. I feel like every single time I post now, I apologize for my inactivity! But truly, I am sorry. I’m sure you all know how it goes.

So here’s a quick literary update on how my life has been going!

Academics

School is going wonderfully. Even though it’s getting busy (since it’s the middle of the semester), I’m managing well enough to stay afloat. I’ve made a couple friends in my classes. I’m not sure if I can really call them friends yet. We’ve bonded over mutual tastes in manga and novels, so that should count for something, right?

I submitted a fiction piece that I originally wrote on WordPress for a daily writing prompt challenge. How cool is that? I edited it and added some more to it, but I’m really excited to either get accepted or rejected. The sooner I know of either outcome, the better. What did I submit it to? It’s a literary “magazine” for my university. It’s called the Sequoia somethin’-rather. It’s probably a bad sign that I can’t remember the title of it, but it’s changed about 3 times in the last 20 years, so who can really blame me?

Editing

I’m so close to being done editing my novel for the third time! After talking with some people on here and Instagram who were kind enough to offer advice, I’ve decided that after I’m done editing this third and final time, I’m going to try to find a literary agent. Ta-da! That’s big news. Well, maybe not for any of you, but it’s big news for me. It’s a huge decision for me, on top of that! I’d thought that I would never need representation because my work would speak for itself. Honestly, that was probably the most naive thing that I could’ve thought and I’m extremely glad that I’ve come to realize the reality of writing/publishing. Maybe I don’t know the whole of it yet, but I’m learning. If I really want to do this in a way that would work best for me, I’m going to need someone else helping me who knows what they’re doing, because Lord knows I don’t.

Reading

I’ve been reading a lot! – a lot for school and a lot for myself. Lately, since my workload at school has increased significantly, I haven’t had much time to read novels for enjoyment. However, I have been reading more manga recently to fill in short gaps between classes or before bed. They’re too short for chapters but too long to just sit around and waste, y’know?

I’m currently re-reading A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas because I plan on having both it and A Court of Mist and Fury finished for the second time by May when the third book in the series will be coming out. Who else is flippin’ excited for its release?! I’ve talked to a couple people on Goodreads about it and everyone seems to be in agreement that this is one of the most anticipated young adult novels of 2017. Does anyone else agree?

As always, thanks for reading! Please feel free to comment and strike up a conversation. I love talking to everyone. Hope that you all have a wonderful Spring! Oh yeah. Happy first day of Spring!

One thought on “General Update

  1. Good to hear you’ve put more thought into taking your novel to an agent. I hope you can find someone who falls in love with your manuscript and can promote it.

    Nice that school is going “wonderfully” and yes, a conversation for me normally means friendship… granted that tends not to be reciprocated all the time but oh well…

    Good luck with the story submission, too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment