Spinning Starlight: Reader Reaction

Dark covers with silvery designs attract my attention.  I was browsing through the Young Adult section in Barnes & Noble this last December when I picked up R.C. Lewis’ Spinning Starlight.  I hadn’t been planning any more books since I was just looking and waiting for a friend at that point, so after skimming the preview of it, I put it back down.  I kept skimming and got back to Spinning Starlight.  It’s not that I have problems with my short-term memory, but I reread the preview – more thoroughly – and decided to hell with my bank account.

When I first began reading it, I couldn’t put it down.  It’s told from the first-person point of view (which is my favorite for YA Romance) and it incorporated the type of science fiction that I love but don’t often dare to read in fear of spoiling myself.  I got to the middle when other stuff came up.  You know how some books are difficult to pick back up after you let them sit for a little while?  It’s like the neglect has hurt their feelings and they try to punish you by confusing you with little details that you should’ve remembered but couldn’t.  Spinning Starlight is not one of those books.  After about two weeks, it welcomed me back as an old friend and I finished that day without any difficulties.  Maybe that’s the type of book you’d hate because it isn’t completely reliant on the small details (until the last 100 pages – wouldn’t be able to leave those and pick them back up without problems but they’re so interesting that I can’t imagine anyone trying).

R.C. Lewis has one of those voices that makes me feel comfortable.  I love the main character.  I agree with everything she did, even if they were tough decisions.  It’s not often that I meet a character like this in a book that I don’t want to slap upside the head for their stupidity, but Liddi was different.  I really liked Liddi.  Also, I really liked the male interest – Tiav.  Although I thought the love story was a bit underdeveloped because of time restraints within the book (the meat of it happens within 8 or 9 days?), I thought it was cute and I’m glad that it panned out the way that it did.  That’s not a spoiler, it’s an opinion.  I’ve been happy when one of the love interests dies in the end, so I haven’t spoiled a single thing for you about Spinning Starlight‘s ending.

The world(s) around Liddi were very interesting and I think that with the pages that she had to work with, the main worlds that were talked about were described excellently.  I cannot say the same of the brothers.  I knew that some had different characteristics, but I never felt for the brothers other than through Liddi’s eyes.  There was never a point where I sat back and just though “Wow, I really hope that everything works out for them all” except for her sake.  If it weren’t for my concern for Liddi’s emotional state, I wouldn’t give two hoots about her brothers.  So that’s one thing.  Maybe some will disagree with me, but that’s simply how I felt.  In fact, there were many underdeveloped characters, in my opinion, but others flourished on and off the page and in my mind.  It wasn’t the differences between major and minor characters, either.  There was an interesting mix; I would’ve liked to have seen more from some of the characters close to Liddi, but I would’ve done fine with seeing less of others, if that makes sense.

I really did enjoy the book.  It was meaningful and emotional and painful and beautiful.  The descriptions that a reader falls in love with says a lot about them, and there were many that I connected to in Spinning Starlight.  I really recommend it to anyone who wants a quicker read than most but still wants the feeling of a dystopian trilogy (which it clearly is not – I simply said the feel).  If you choose to read it, I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

