This isn’t very book-related, but it does relate to writing in a far more obvious way.

Today, I had an interview.  It wasn’t just any interview: it was the first interview I’ve had in months, the first that was not directly related to tutoring in a year, and the first ever that was not related to writing in any way.  The odd thing about it was that I wasn’t very nervous.

Let me explain:  I’m taking a semester off from college since I’m going to be transferring to a university.  My original plans had been to get a job immediately at the beginning of the year and save up money.  What actually happened, as those who have been following my blog posts about reading and writing endlessly already know, was quite a bit different.

The interview was more to satisfy the people around me who are saying that I must find a job as soon as possible.  Because of that, the interview went extremely well.  I wasn’t nervous; I was able to make eye-contact without mumbling; I spoke more eloquently to strangers than I ever have in my entire life; I was very honest about my goals.  (To be completely honest, I wish I hadn’t cared as much about all of my previous interviews if that’s all it took to act like a normal human instead of someone who lurks in their dark room nearly 24/7.)

My point?  As stated, I was more comfortable speaking about myself, my hobbies, and my ambitions.  I said that I spend a lot of my free time reading and writing.  They asked what I wrote, so I mentioned that I’m working on a novel.  The interviewer seemed quite impressed and asked a bit more about it (though it relates in no way to the job description).  Somehow, letting them know that my dream career wasn’t to work in that particular store seemed to be a surprisingly good idea – something I wouldn’t have dared to say had I not particularly been low-key okay with the idea of not getting the position.

Suddenly, the interviewer just paused and said that I should be following my dreams and doing what I love, even if there may be no money in it.  Of course I was a little shocked by the response.  From the slightly regretful tone to the short story about what they’d originally wanted to do with their life, I just sat there in shock.  Never had I expected to go in for a practical job interview that I had pictured as a dream-oppressing giant and leave with a newly restored drive to pursue my goals to be a published novelist.  I said that I would keep writing no matter what, even if I did take on a job in the meantime for stability, but there was this unspoken admiration that I had for the interviewer as they continued the questions.

I’m so thankful that there are still people from older generations that look at the younger ones and see potential.  Even if their dream hadn’t come true, they hadn’t become bitter; instead, they stressed the importance of doing what you love.

It may sound like they said this as a way of telling me that I didn’t get the job.  Let me reassure you, that wasn’t the case.  The conversation did not go in that direction and there were no hints of the interviewer telling me that it was better to just pursue my goals than to waste time looking for jobs that I may or may not be qualified for.  They said it earnestly and sincerely – more so than I would have imagined possible had I not heard the words and tone myself.  There really are people who look at the world and all the dreamers in it with kind eyes.  Even if I don’t get the job (which, as said, I would be fine with), the interview was an eye-opener on many levels.  If I do get the job, I’ll be lucky to be working under someone who understands becoming more and never settling.

Leave a Reply

