Thank you, Joheneps, for the blog tag.  This should be interesting!

  1. How long have you been a blogger?
    I’ve been blogging since December 22, 2015.  So I guess it’s been about two and a half months now.
  2. At what point do you think you will stop?
    If all goes well, I don’t think that I’ll ever stop blogging.  I started this as a way to express my bookish opinions (whether reading or writing).  It’s a great little space to write down my thoughts on books that I read and concerns on the book that I’m writing.  Honestly, this will probably be one of those things that I keep working at consistently for quite a few years.
  3. What is the best thing?
    Okay, the best thing so far has been the responses.  For the first month, there was a grand total of 2 blog views.  It was really disheartening.  However, a month and a half later, I’m finding that I’m loving how wonderful it is to read others’ thoughts and see that they read mine.  There’s something so wonderful about sharing ideas!
  4. What is the worst thing?
    This isn’t necessarily bad but maybe a little weird?  I’m friendly, I really am.  I communicate better written than I do verbally, so this blog is great.  So, the worst thing?  I keep getting this idea into my mind that maybe after a few months, I’ll have friends on the internet.  This will probably sound weird (and maybe it’s the “worst thing” that some of you can imagine), but I really want Internet friends.  I had several when I was younger on a fandom forum, but it all just slowly dissolved.  I miss that comradery that I had with people that I knew I’d probably never meet but could talk to about anything because something tied us together, even against the odds that we’d beat by even knowing that the other one even existed.  Is that weird?  Yeah, I guess that is weird.  So the “worst thing” is unreasonable expectations of friendship via Internet.
  5. How long does it take you to create/find pictures to use?
    I am not talented with photoshop or the like, so creating pictures is pretty much limited to using ones that I’ve already posted on my Insta[booksta]gram account.  When I don’t use photos that I’ve already taken, I will go online and try to find practical photos that seem like they’re not something that anyone would have any special rights to.  There was one instance when I used someone else’s comic strip and I didn’t know who to give credit to, but I tried my best to follow it and give credit to the source where I’d originally found it (whether or not that was actually the original source).  It does take anywhere from 5-20 minutes to find a good picture to use.
  6. Who’s your book crush?
    Okay, let me try to explain this.  Although Four, Kaden, Rafe, Jem, and Will [Divergent, Kiss of Deception, and Infernal Devices] are all so perfectly charming, love stories don’t have the same effect on me since I’ve been in a relationship these last several years.  I’m in love with fictional male characters, but I don’t crush on them the in same way that I did before I started dating the person whom I’m with.  My last fictional crush that I cried over because I couldn’t marry him (literally cried over, and actually to said boyfriend) was Edward Cullen back when I was fourteen.
  7. Which author would you like to have on your blog?
    This is entirely possible because I have talked to her via Facebook but I’m too nervous to try asking her anything related to her books:  Tina Connolly.
  8. What do you wear when you write your blog?
    Usually it’s just oversized tees or anything that is equally as comfortable!
  9. How long does it take you to prepare a post?
    I once wrote a blog post in less than 5 minutes.  The longest took 5-6 hours because of the research that went with it:  this here.  Usually, though, it takes about an hour.
  10. How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture?
    Everyone has such great opinions!  I love reading what people have to write.  Also, I love that I’m connected with people who love to write and read as much (and probably more than) me.  It feels like a dream come true to just scroll down and see countless book reviews and opinion pieces.
  11. What do you think one should do to have a successful blog?
    Write.  Read.  It’s that simple.  I wouldn’t exactly call my own blog successful, but I like to think that maybe one day I’ll be able to call it that.  In the meantime, I’m just enjoying learning from others and letting others read what I’m learning along my own bookish journey.  Oh, one last thing: friendliness.  I cannot stress how off-putting it is to see bloggers who do not communicate at all with their followers.
  12. Who do you tag?
    If y’all haven’t done it:
    A Stranger’s Guide to Novels
    Jade M. Wong
    Mapping Souls With Words
    katiesjumbledthoughts

Hope you enjoyed reading this a bit!  If anyone has any questions, feel free to ask.  I’m not exactly private about my life, but I usually don’t share much about myself outside of my opinions on books and such.

8 thoughts on “The Secret Life of a (Book) Blogger Tag

  1. I love your responses and am blown away by your Character Analysis post. I will definitely reference back to it when I need a reminder as I write. I’m sure you’ll find online friends along the way. I’m also a firm believer the internet helps people connect in different ways, so I also have that hope. We can be friends :’D If you wouldn’t mind?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just wanted to weigh in on #4: I don’t think that’s weird at all. I’d like to think that I’ve “met” a friendly community within the Internet-sphere. I know there are several bloggers whose blogs I’m big fans of and who I interact with on a regular basis. Have I or will I ever meet them in person? No. But that doesn’t mean that they’re any less important than the friends I have who know me in person. We’re all bonded by different things, and it’s a beautiful thing to be bonded by a love of blogging, or reading, or writing, or fandoms. Friendship is friendship, whether it’s a virtual one or not. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

