The Good:  I have had a bit of time to read lately, so I’m nearly done with Cassandra Clare’s Clockwork Princess from the Infernal Devices series.  Also, I went into town this last Saturday to the bookstore with my sister and bought 5 new books:  Holly Black’s The Darkest Part of the Forest, V.E. Schwab’s A Darker Shake of Magic, William Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night, Shanker and Zekas’ These Vicious Masks, and last but not least, Cassandra Clare’s Lady Midnight!  Also, we went into the comic book store and I got the next couple issues of “Invader Zim” for my man.  Besides the tad bit of reading and the book shopping, I have reached 78,000+ words in the first draft of my novel!  I’m nearly at the end of the first book and I’m really excited about editing (as lame as that sounds).

The Bad:  I got a job; this should probably be listed under the “good” except for the fact that it takes away time from my other priorities.  When I do have free time now, I try to spend as much of it as I can with others, so there isn’t much time for reading or writing.  On top of this, the person whom I spend all of my time with moved an extra 20 minutes further, so driving time has increased substantially.  It’s just a whole mess, but it’s good for them so it’s good for me, I guess.  That’s more of a personal thing, but the point is that I don’t have as much time as I used to for various reasons.

The University:  I visited the university campus that I’ll be attending come Autumn.  I loved the campus and the library took my breath away.  Four stories (only two open to students), a basement as a study lounge, private study rooms and comfortable open areas on each floor, thousands of motorized bookshelves for easy access, and so much more.  There’s an old printing press on display on the bottom floor.  A printing press!  I kept trying to casually take a photo without anyone else seeing, but my attempts weren’t successful.  Hopefully when I start up in August I’ll be able to get a picture.  It was beautiful.  Also, the entire library, despite having thousands beyond thousands of old books, smells exactly like a bookstore.  It was amazing.  It was seriously like walking into a silent Barnes & Noble.  So there’s that.  Then, there’s the fact that the school I’m transferring from didn’t offer one of the English prerequisites that I need in order to register for any upper-division English courses, so I’m pretty much screwed into taking GE classes for at least the first semester.  I’m extremely upset about that…  I may now have to stay another semester, even with summer courses, which means that plans will have to be changed.  That’s another whole mess that has made things pretty difficult.

So this is why my blog posts have been cut back significantly.  I haven’t finished a book yet for another reader reaction and I haven’t had the time to write.  This is just to reassure you that I’m still active!  I want to have more time to read and write, but other things have been popping up that can’t be ignored.  Thank you all, and I apologize for my absence.  Ideally, I’ll finish reading Clockwork Princess sometime this week and post a reaction along with another writing update.

[Note:  The photo is one that my friend took of me holding my canned coffee at the university’s preview day for freshmen and transfer students.  That “seat” is a window in the stairwell of the library when we went exploring.]

Leave a Reply

