I got home last night (or I guess this morning) at around 1 am and finally decided to sit down and finish Clockwork Princess from Cassandra Clare’s Infernal Devices series.  Although I’m glad to be done with it, I really do regret finishing so late last night because I was just weeping silently in bed.  I had no idea that the end would hit me that hard…

Down to business:  I loved it.  The Infernal Devices series is just amazing.  Her more modern series with Clary and Jace was great, but I just couldn’t finish it because I got bored – don’t hate me for that!  But I was always on edge with Tessa Gray, Will Herondale, and Jem Carstairs.  I had the highest expectations for the last book; not only were all of them met, but they were surpassed.  Everything was summed up and everything ended in the only way that wouldn’t have me screaming at the world for the unfairness of life and love and everything that’s supposed to be beautiful.

Now, one thing that I should mention is that I absolutely loved how things resolved between Will, Jem, and Tessa before the epilogue.  This may be an unpopular opinion, but the epilogue, although emotional and perfect for summing it all up, has greatly ruined how I’ll feel about reading her next book featuring the three of them.  If it was truly the last book, that would’ve been different, but all throughout, I was thinking “Holy shit, she’s coming out with another book after this and I’m expected to be okay with that?”  It was very emotional…  I don’t know if I’m upset that everything was summed up early or if I’m mad at how it ended or happy because it ended in that way.  Confusion.  That’s how to sum up my own feelings.  I’m not confused about how it ended.  What I’m confused about is why I feel like it was the most perfect ending and the worst (epilogue only).

Any thoughts?  I highly recommend the series because I love Clare’s writing, how wonderfully-developed her characters are, and just her creativity as a whole.  Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

