Let me just say this now: this is by far my favorite fantasy/romance series. In my reader reaction for A Court of Thorns and Roses, I wrote a bit about how in love I have fallen with Sarah J. Maas and her writing; the same can and should be said for how I felt all throughout A Court of Mist and Fury, as well.

So, this may contain spoilers. I won’t say anything direct, but it will possibly give away the gist of the story. You might not want to continue reading if you haven’t read it. Also, if you haven’t, GO READ IT! YOU WON’T REGRET IT!

Now for the good part. I had no idea why everyone on the Internet shipped Feyre and Rhysand while I read reading A Court of Thorns and Roses. I just couldn’t understand it. To me, he was like the good guy friend – that’s how I envisioned his character’s role playing out in the sequel. Tamlin was perfect, in my mind, for Feyre, so why were all of the readers shipping her with someone else? It didn’t take long for me to jump on board. In fact, it took no time at all. The interesting thing about the switch, though, is that “Beauty” is still with a “Beast.” Sure, Tamlin is more of the traditional beast that we all picture when we think of the fairytale, but Rhysand is, as well. They’re both beasts, and yet they aren’t. I think that’s why I loved Maas’ story so much; I could’ve ended it after the first novel and been happy. The way that she plays the characters after the great love affair (between Tamlin and Feyre) actually becomes more permanent makes me realize how terribly flawed the traditional “Beauty and the Beast” story truly is. For those we have read the novel, you can see it, can’t you?

Anyway, this was my reaction. I was freaking out the entire time. I fell in love with Rhysand. My passionate feelings toward Tamlin turned sour, though still passionate in another, far more different way. I love Maas for the story she’s blessed us with and I simply know that I’m going to wither away from anticipation for the release of the third novel in the series!

Leave a Reply

