I went through a bit of a dry spell after finishing ACOMAF, but I absolutely lovedย To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before when I first started! It was on sale at Target and I’d seen people posting about it on Instagram, so I decided to go into the hype and read it.

Let me admit this at the very beginning and just get it out of the way: I really prefer past tense so the fact that Jenny Han wrote the novel in present tense through me threw me off quite a bit at first. Actually, the way that the entire book is written kind of threw me off; I usually love first-person but it felt weird in this novel. Yes, I think that Han did a great job of capturing the raw thoughts and feelings of a struggling teenager dealing with the added pressures of responsibility, but it wasn’t exactly my cup of tea. However, I do respect the fact that she did write it well and that it conveyed Lara Jean’s story and views effectively.

Now that that’s out of the way, I’ll tell you openly that I loved the story! Everything just flowed nicely in a way that drew me in – despite the fact that I wasn’t particularly fond of the point of view. The cliffhanger pissed me off quite a bit, but I started reading the next book immediately after so it wasn’t that bad of a wait. (I can’t imagine what it must’ve been like for the readers who first read it when it came out and were forced to wait the whole time out until the next was released – those poor souls.) ย Everything was just nice. It wasn’t great, but it was nice. It wasn’t a book that I could read over and over again, though I could possibly skim it again once more in the distant future just to have a nice one-day read.

This definitely isn’t a book for everyone. In fact, I’m not even sure that I recommend it to anyone else. It’s nice. That’s what can be said of it. I enjoyed it and I loved the story because I’m a sucker for romance. To put it another way, when my bookworm friends and I were having a book discussion about recommendations, I told them what happened in the book so they’d hear the story without having to actually read the book; it’s a great story, but I certainly wouldn’t recommend it for everyone, as I didn’t for those two friends. If you like cute and quirky (reference!!!!), then this book is for you. If you prefer something with a bit more to it, though, it really isn’t. That’s pretty much it.

 

One thought on “Reader Reaction: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before

  1. Lol I remember having similar issues when I read this book too, but like you, what ultimately kept me going and even made me squeal was that I’m a sucker for romance too. Glad you liked the book ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

