So I finished Jenny Han’s sequel to To All the Boys I’ve Loved BeforeP.S. I Still Love You, last night at around 2 am… I’m still trying to decide what to think. My initial reaction was sheer disappointment, which is why I decided to sleep on it before blogging my reaction to the book. What’s upsetting is that this morning, my outlook still hasn’t changed (which it usually does after a few hours of rest and a refreshed mind considering the ending). So… What are my thoughts on P.S. I Still Love You?

I’m glad that I read it because it was cute, much like the first.

However, the “scandal” that effected Lara Jean so much bugged me beyond belief! If something like that happened at my old high school, it would’ve been nothing. Maybe it’s because I live in one of the counties with the highest teenage pregnancy rate (which is something that I’m ashamed to admit, but it puts things into perspective for you readers). Anyway, it just seemed so insignificant. Are things like that really a big deal in other places? I honestly want to know if any of you went to high school where the “scandal” (that shall remained unnamed for purpose of not spoiling it for any of you who have not read it) from the book would’ve been call for such reactions from fellow students. Anyone?

Then there’s the whole love-triangle that goes on. I love love-triangles, don’t get me wrong! Something just felt so wrong about the one in the book, though. It felt so unexplored, which was maybe the purpose of it. She was a good girl who wouldn’t purposefully do something wrong, so maybe it’s a good thing that she didn’t have both boys fawning over her as excessively as other characters in the love-triangles of other books. I don’t know… I just felt that there should have been more to that. It lacked passion in my eyes, which again, maybe was the point. Any thoughts? I really want someone to discuss this with who has the opposite opinion.

This brings me to the ending. I was thoroughly disappointed. (Alright, this will be a bit of a spoiler but I won’t say who she picks so there’s that!) I’m just a little disappointed that she picked at all. That sounds bad… To rephrase, I’m disappointed that she didn’t cut them both loose as potential loves and just accept that she didn’t need a boy. Then again, if she’d done that, the little helpless romantic in me would’ve cried myself to sleep last night… So, despite the above mentioned disappointment, I did love that she acknowledged that the one she choose was a love for the moment. It wasn’t a forever kind of thing, thought she did say in a very noncommittal way that it was a possibility for the future.

That’s what I love about the Song girls: they understand that they don’t need any man besides their dad. That was the main difference between this love story and others that I’ve read, which is why I was a little disappointed that she did end up picking from one of the two boys whom she had feelings for. The Song girls unspoken-ly pride themselves on being feminists and knowing that love can be temporary. For that reason alone, I loved it. Other than that, though, it was just a cute love story that wasn’t particularly exciting for me. Again, that could be attributed to the culture that I grew up in; maybe the scandal and the way the love-triangle played out was exciting for other readers, but just not for me.

Do I recommend it? Okay, I can’t believe that I’m saying this because I always say that a reader should pretty much read every book that I do, but no. I do not recommend this book. Again, maybe some of you really enjoyed it, but it was not nearly as good as the first for me. Yes, I loved John’s character so incredibly much, but most people read books for the events and not the characters. There. I said it. Okay. I’m done.

Disclaimer: If you’re reading this and you loved the book, please don’t be offended. This is just my opinion and I really did enjoy reading it because it did have adorable moments.

Leave a Reply

