Novel Update #9: Editing Sucks

The title pretty much sums up this entire blog post: editing sucks. I hate it. That’s all there is to it.

Why? Well… I don’t really know why. I thought that I’d love it. I’m fairly certain that in my last novel update, I alerted you all that I’d started editing and that I didn’t like it nearly as much as I’d thought I would. Not only have my feelings toward editing grown even more toward hatred, but I am also acutely aware that the longer I put it off, the worse everything becomes. What does this mean? To put it simply, if I edit, I hate doing it; if I don’t edit, I hate myself for not doing it. Which is better?

It seems like I finished writing the first draft just a week ago – like I haven’t wasted several months editing (on and off) the first six chapters when I should have been doing within a month, maybe two at most. Maybe that’s why it’s so hard to make myself edit. I just finished writing it so I have all the time in the world to edit. In reality, I know that it’s more along the lines of I finished months ago so I need to finish editing and actually do something with my rough draft instead of just leaving it rough. To reiterate, because even I’m getting confused and I’m the one actually thinking these thoughts, it feels like I can take my time until I actually do, which is when I regret taking my time.

Isn’t it like that with everything, though? Everyone thinks that they have all the time in the world to get things done, and then suddenly, they don’t. Either the time passes and it’s too late or something else comes up to take up the time. I just don’t know. I know that I have to get all of the editing done eventually, and that I’ll be over the moon ecstatic when I finally do get it out of the way and onto the next step, but I just can’t bring myself to do it. I’d gone through a writing slump after the first month of writing The Strain of Rebellion, and that lasted several months. Maybe this is an editing slump. Is an editing slump a thing? Well, it is now.

So, does anyone know how to get out of an editing slump? In all seriousness, I want serious advice on how to proceed with this. Writing slumps I can handle because I love writing, which I know deep inside. But I have come to find that I just don’t really like editing, which makes this all the more difficult. So how do you guys bring yourselves to do stuff that you just don’t like to do?

Leave a Reply

