Hello, fellow bloggers! Kayla from KDrewKTheBookworm nominated me for the Liebster Award (2.0) so I’ll be answering and asking some questions.

The rules?

  1. Acknowledge the person who nominated you for the award and post the award
  2. Answer the questions that were asked by the blogger who nominated you.
  3. Give 11 5 facts about yourself
  4. Ask 11 questions of your own
  5. Nominate 11 blogs for the award (or however many blogs you can nominate)
  6. Notify your nominees.

Now to start the answering portion of this post.

Question #1: What are you doing this summer? (Or if your region is not in summertime, what did you do last summer/plan on doing next summer?)
This summer, I’m working. Nearly every night, I work the closing shift. Also, I’m reading a lot, which is great! Then there’s blogging and editing my novel (though I should be working on the latter far more often than I do). In two day, I’m getting ready to go on my first major trip that I planned alone with my fiancé! We’re traveling from California’s Central Valley up into Oregon, specifically Portland. It’ll be about a 12 hour drive there, so it’s also my first road trip with someone other than my immediate family, which I’m so excited about. (By the way, the world’s largest new/used bookstore is in Portland. Just sayin’!)

Question #2: How many physical books do you own?
Erm… I have a few loaned out and then I also share copies with my brothers, so this number may not be entirely accurate. I always have more than this on my bookshelves, though, because my friends let me borrow books for years…
Novels/Novellas – 97
Manga – 15

Question #3: Under what circumstances would you DNF a book?
This is a difficult question to answer for me because I’m one of those people that stops a book halfway if I lose interest… Sometimes I go back to it in a couple days or a couple years… So I have a few half-read books that I’m not positive I’ll pick up again. That makes me sound like an un-devoted reader, but that’s really not the case! I just won’t force myself to push through something usually if I want to switch to something else, and that goes for books, as well.

Question #4: What was the last movie that you saw in theatres? Did you enjoy it?
The last movie that I saw at the theatre was “Me Before You” and I cried my eyes out next to some other distraught woman and her young daughter. Also, my friend that I went with didn’t so much as shed a single tear… It was a little embarrassing, actually! I did thoroughly enjoy the movie, though.

Question #5: Do you play video games? If so, what console do you have?
I don’t have the coordination or patience for video games, sadly. I do own a wii, which I use only when I have sleepovers. On rare occasions, I’ll join Zach on PC  for TF2 or XBox for Minecraft. Mostly, though, video games are limited to when I hang out with friends and we play Smash and Mario Kart on wii.

Question #6: What are your favorite and least favorite things about blogging?
I’d have to say my favorite thing about blogging is being able to put my opinion out there and getting reactions from other people that I’ve never met before who either share or argue them. It’s amazing that this blog has connected me with others who have so much in common with me when it comes to reading and writing, yet we’ve never met and likely never will.
My least favorite thing is difficult to pick since there are so many things I hate… I’m totally kidding! Honestly, I don’t really know. I guess that what I hate is my own inactivity because I feel guilty about it when I go so long without posting.

Question #7: Tell me a teaser sentence from the book you’re currently reading!
I’m picking a sentence from the first paragraph of the chapter that I’m starting tonight: “Despite how Cress yearned for companionship, it was always a relief when Sybil left her, and this time even more than usual,” (Cress).

Question #8: What post do you use to write your blog posts?
My beloved laptop!

Question #9: Tell me a little known fact about you that no other bloggers know.
The first time I tried to read the first Harry Potter book when I was a kid, I hated the first chapter so much that I put it back and didn’t try again for years. Just so y’all know, I absolutely love the first chapter now! I just was a frustrated little girl who was told to read when I’d rather have watched television. I’ve changed so much since then…

Question #10: If you could travel anywhere in the world right this instant, where would you go, and why?
I’d like to visit New Zealand. Ever since I first watched the LotR films, I’ve just wanted to go to see the beauty of the place!

Question #11: What song is stuck in your head right now (if any)?
A cover of “Crazy” by Melanie Martinez. Here’s a link if you’re interested. Ugh, I just love how her voice goes so well with the song!
Crazy – Melanie Martinez

Now for the “factual” portion of this post.

Fact #1: My real name isn’t Xandra Nelsen. My first name is actually something completely different, but my middle name is Alexandra, which is where I got Xandra from. Nelsen is the last name of the man that I’m marrying in just about 2 years, so I figured that it wouldn’t hurt to start going by that just a bit early.

Fact #2: I used to hate the idea of Kindles and Nooks. Now I own one… Even though I still prefer holding physical copies and turning pages, eReaders are quick, convenient, and easy on the eyes.

Fact #3: One of the main reasons that I actually finished writing my novel was so that Zach would stop being so annoyingly supportive of me writing it. It’s incredibly sweet how active he was in conversations with me about writing and how encouraging he was about me finishing it, but he had a way of pestering me about writing until I finally just gave in and finished!

Fact #4: I hate tea.

Fact #5: I really don’t want my blog or bookstagram account to be anonymous (without any photos of myself), but I’m worried about the response if I change that little detail. Decisions, decisions.

Questions for my nominees!

  1. What is your favorite book from your childhood?
  2. Do you have any collections (stamps, shells, etc.)?
  3. What made you decide to start a blog?
  4. What is your favorite book to movie adaptation?
  5. If you could only choose one book to completely forget, which would you pick to reread as if it were the first time?
  6. What is one of your little known hobbies that you are particularly fond of?
  7. What is your favorite book that is widely considered a classic?
  8. Do you have a most valued book? If so, why?
  9. What made you decide to go into the field that you are in/plan to enter into?
  10. What has been your least favorite read of all time?
  11. What’s one thing that you’re proud of that isn’t commonly known about by other bloggers?

Nominees are:
Jade M. Wong
Rachael
Bookkeeper’s Notes
Katherine Viti

Have fun, guys, and thank you for reading!

One thought on “Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

