I FINISHED IT! There were so many tears shed throughout the script. I mean, I cried twice during the first chapter just from the excitement of the story continuing (no matter the format or playwright). I will avoid spoilers for the plot, so feel free to read even if you haven’t read the script yet.

So I’m dying to know what you all think. Personally, I loved it. It felt like the story was reminiscent of the earlier books (for obvious reasons) but the feel of it had the darker shadow that lingered in the later books. Overall, I was quite impressed with the atmosphere that the minds behind the script were able to set so early on. The entire script was very Harry Potter without being too dependent on the information from the series. Now, if you’ve read it, that probably sounds confusing since the entire script is highly dependent on the stories of the series – more so than I was expecting – but what was unique about Harry Potter and the Cursed Child was that it explored the new. It didn’t rely on information about the Wizarding World that had come from the series of Rowling’s tweets/announcements about unknown facts. It was new. It was fresh. It wasn’t just a “twenty years later,” that continued with the kids as I’d expected like some retelling of Harry Potter that wasn’t truly about Harry Potter. It wasn’t just a “boy and friends sort some shit out” thing. It was so much more than that, even though that is what happened. Does that make sense? Ugh, this is difficult for me to explain. The script wasn’t just about a boy and his friends, it was about love and family and life and not fitting in and being terrified but being okay with it. The minds behind the book and Jack Thorne were very heavy with the feelings in the script, which is to be expected from a Harry Potter addition, but I still hadn’t expected it. Why? Maybe I just didn’t want to get my hopes up about it when it was a play that could have been nothing like the books, even with Rowling working on it.

Which brings me to the play part… I’ve always loved reading scripts because I was involved in drama productions since I was very young. Reading scripts is just second-nature to me. It was always alarming when students in English class reading Shakespeare didn’t know what the stage directions were or why names and sounds were capitalized and things like that. I mean, I read Shakespeare for fun because I just love plays! That being said, there was no way that I could hate Harry Potter and the Cursed Child just for the format. However, I know a couple of my friends and family members who will not read the book because they don’t like reading scripts. One of them mentioned that they can’t wait for it to be turned into a movie. Now let me stop you right there…. This is a play. This script is clearly written as a stage production in front of an audience. Even some of the lines have that very Broadway-y type element to them. It feels like a play because it is a play and I will be highly disappointed if they turn this script into a movie. THIS SCRIPT! I would love for the story to be re-written for on-the-screen, but as long as they change the script.

That covers my feelings concerning Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. I loved it; it was like the books without being too like the old books and not enough like a new story; it is clearly a play

2 thoughts on “Reader Reaction: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

    1. Everyone has their own preferences. From the post you linked, I get the idea that you go for a certain type of book (not fantasy like Harry Potter), so it’s understandable that you haven’t read them. In my opinion, everyone should give the books a shot – don’t go straight to the films! – but just read what you want to, even if others give you a hard time about not having read the series. 🙂
      Great blog post, by the way, and as long as you’re reading something, that’s all another fellow reader could ask for!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

