Title: The Beauty of Darkness
Series: The Remnant Chronicles
Author: Mary E Pearson
Released: August 2, 2016
Favorite quote: “Love… It’s a nice little trick if you can find it.”
goodreads link

The Beauty of Darkness is the last in Pearson’s Remnant Chronicles, and quite honestly, I thought it was the perfect end to a brilliant series. After reading The Kiss of Deception and The Heart of Betrayal last summer, I was so excited for the next book to be released. A year later, I went to Barnes & Noble two days after it was out in stores and took it home for my very own!

I’m going to accuse Pearson of shifting our emotions, which isn’t a bad thing. Like Maas in ACOTAR and ACOMAF, Pearson uses her ability to sway the readers’ feelings drastically for a character. I feel for them; I don’t. I ship them; I don’t. Maybe this wasn’t true for everyone, but I felt the strong sway of Pearson’s suggestive (not in that way!) writing. By the end of the book, I had accepted what was to come without putting up a fight, though I had shipped Lia with one particular character the entire time. While some authors leave the reader to stew in their unhappiness after the series, I was okay with everything. Okay. Not delighted, but I’d come to peace with it. That being said, I do love Pearson’s writing style. Lia is a wonderful character to reader in first person, and Pearson’s series is one of the few that I absolutely love the point of view changes in: they’re well done and add to the feel of the story and the characters.

The complexity of the story was lacking… Yes, shoot me. When I read a fantasy novel/series with vivid descriptions and whole characters, I expect the story to knock my socks off. Although I was quite impressed with the story-line of the first two, the third did feel like it was just following in a linear line the map the had been set up by the first two novels. I still enjoyed it, but there wasn’t much that surprised me. Though there were little plot twists throughout, there was never something that just stood out and screamed for attention. I was a bit disappointed, despite how much I do love the trilogy.

Now to focus primarily on Jezelia – the main character. It’s difficult not to love her. Her growth and passion for the kingdoms and the unspoken way of the world makes her one of those characters that every reader can aspire to be. She’s strong; she’s not fearless, but brave enough to face her fears; she’s willing to sacrifice what she wants for the good of all; she’s the perfect leading character. There are times when I hate her for doing certain things and behaving a certain way, but that’s just how she as a whole character is written.

This just covers a smidgen of my reaction, but it does sum up my opinion of The Beauty of Darkness. I really hope that you guys read the series, because it really is amazing. I highly recommend it to anyone who loves romance, love-triangles, war, the reign of royalty in what seems like simpler times, and just strong female characters. Comment if you want to start a discussion of your own opinions, in agreement with mine or not, and just let me know what you thought of the book. Have a great day, guys!

[I tried something different with the formatting, clearly.]

Leave a Reply

