Daily Prompt: Zing!

via Daily Prompt: Zing!

[This is a nonfiction entry!]

zing
ziNG/
informal
noun
1. energy, enthusiasm, or liveliness
verb
1. move swiftly
Thanks, Google.
Zing…  Zing.  Zing?
The first time I saw it, I thought it was an example onomatopoeia, but clearly I was wrong.
Zing.  What is there in my life that’s lively or moving swiftly?  To be quite frank, there’s nothing very enthusiastic in my life – no people that I see regularly or events that hype up my daily life, even momentarily.
Zing.  I drive too fast when I’m on the freeway, but I’m fairly certain that that isn’t quite apt.  My close friends and I do tend to send quips zinging back and forth between us quite frequently.
It’s a bit of a weird word.  Most of these daily writing prompts make me think of something from my life or imagination that I can write about, but this is just going to have to be one of those weird responses that is a complete breakage of the third wall.  I know that potentially one person will read this (yes, that means you) and that you’re probably considering stopping pretty soon.  Well don’t just yet!  Bear with me for just a moment or two longer.
During a college creative writing class that I took for nonfiction writing, I had to write an essay of any topic that I chose to write about that told something about myself.  Lots of people wrote about specific instances in their lives that impacted them and the like, but I took a different route.  It was an online class and I hadn’t met but three of the students enrolled in it, so I wasn’t particularly eager to open up about meaningful moments in my life to complete strangers.  Instead, I tore down the third wall – absolutely destroyed it.  It was an appeal to the readers’ sympathies about writing personal essays to be judged by online strangers.  When the idea had first come to my mind, I was so excited that I could hardly hold myself back from starting immediately.  (You could say that the conjured idea added zing to the assignment for me.)
There’s nothing else important, really.  It’s just one of those things that goes full circle.  Zing.
Leave a Reply

