Guest Post: The Drama of Writing YA

Kelly F Barr

Iโ€™m taking a break from poetry today to bring you a special guest post by my good friend, Laura L. Zimmerman.

The Drama of Writing YA

Long after I left my โ€œyoung adultโ€ years, I continued to read the books out of sheer enjoyment for the genre. Iโ€™d slip through the doors of Barnes and Noble, duck my head, and sneak to the back of the store where all the newly released YA novels were displayed. I knew I wasnโ€™t the only adult who enjoyed the genre, but somehow, standing between groups of thirteen-year-old girls felt a bit intimidating. Still that didnโ€™t stop me from enjoying a good read.

Since then, there have been times when Iโ€™ve read a popular YA novel only to think,ย โ€˜Wait. Thatโ€™s not realistic!โ€™ orย โ€˜Whoa. Serious mood swings!โ€™So itโ€™s no surprise that as I began to seriously write YA, Iโ€™dโ€ฆ

View original post 482 more words

Leave a Reply

