Title: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
Series
Author: Ransom Riggs
Released: June 7, 2011
Favorite quote: “A supernova in miniature.”
goodreads

I originally had no intention of ever reading this novel because the cover creeped me out. Although I know that that’s a horrible reason to avoid a highly-recommended series, it was my reason and I stuck with it until this month when the Books & Beyond Book Club on Instagram  announced that Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was the voted book for October. I’d been iffy about reading it, even if I wanted to stick with reading all of the choices from the book club, until my fiancé ate his way through the series in a matter of days. He’s not much of a reader unless he really likes the book, so for him to make it through a series that quickly, I knew he must’ve absolutely loved it. Our tastes in literature differ greatly, but I figured I should be more open-minded (as I mentioned in my last blog post) and give it a shot. I borrowed his copy, put off reading it for a couple weeks, and then picked it up and didn’t want to put it back down.

This is going to be an incredibly short reaction because I’m planning on going to see the film adaptation sometime with my fiancé and writing a comparison piece with my opinions on that (even though I’ve heard it’s terrible).

The characters, setting, and story are all brilliant. Riggs is a genius, in my opinion, for applying the photo-stories in the way that he did. There were flawless connections that felt very natural most of the time. I hadn’t planned on reading the sequels at all since I’d originally picked it up just for the book club, but I already borrowed the copy of the sequel within hours after finishing. No, I won’t be reading it right away, but I wanted to have it on-hand for when I get the urge to.

Did I like it? Yes.

Do I recommend it? Yes.

Leave a Reply

