Advice on Publishing?

My novel is done. Yay! Now comes the part even harder than writing it – finding someone who likes it enough to consider it worthy of publishing.

Here is the question that I have for all of you authors and aspiring authors out there: have you/will you go through a literary agent to find a publishing deal? Right away?

I haven’t done much research on it yet. I did send out my manuscript to my top choice already, but if that doesn’t work, should I keep going through the publishing companies on my list or try to find a literary agent? I know how they work (as far as money), but is it worth it to be able to send in manuscripts for consideration at establishments that don’t accept unsolicited authors/works?

If possible, I’d really like to talk with someone on here who knows more about this than I do. So if you have any knowledge that you’re willing to share or even any helpful links that I should check out, please don’t be shy. I will appreciate whatever help I can get.

5 thoughts on “Advice on Publishing?

  1. I just finished mine as well! I did some research this weekend and started sending out my query letter, synopsis, etc to both literary agents and publishers, if I could find one that would accept unsolicited submissions. So I guess my answer is I don’t know! Lol. Good luck! What is your book about?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi, I finished writing a novel over the festive period and am now in the same boat as you (and Deborah). My advice is seek an agent first and foremost. Even companies that do accept unsolicited manuscripts don’t always get round to looking at them; and if they do look at it, they can’t always give it their undivided attention as their current authors and projects come first. An agent at least gets these companies to pay more attention to the proposal and they can help you package it in a way that is more likely to be picked up – that is what they are paid for and remember they don’t get paid if you don’t so it is in their interests to get it seen.

    I wish you luck in getting your work published!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

