Limit on Current Reads?

So this is going to be a short post inspired by my pile of 6 current reads that I’m working through.

Do you all have a cap for the number of current reads you’ll take on and actually work toward finishing at least once or twice a week (so no books on the back burner!)?

I want to say that I usually focus on solely one novel at a time, but being an English major has changed that for me. I’m currently reading three books for school on top of the manga and novels that I’m reading for my own enjoyment. It’s different for me and I feel like I’m going a bit crazy, but logging my progress and updates on goodreads has helped so much!

The question: Can you comfortably read more than 1 book at a time? How many are you currently reading? Is it too much? Too little??

3 thoughts on “Limit on Current Reads?

  1. For a long time now, I always read multiple books at time. Its usually like a ebook, a physical book, a re-read, an audiobook and sometimes more. I’ve gotten as far as reading 8 books at a time. It definitely works for me. I do sometimes wish I could start a book, finish it and only then start another book but it doesn’t work. Do whatever works for you and good luck with managing your reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can read more than one, I just don’t like to. I always find when I break away from one to read another – for whatever reason, such as book clubs etc – I then often struggle to get back into the first. If I don’t like a book I’ll always be tempted away by something shinier, which would normally just result in my speeding up the reading of it.

    I’m very systematic with the way I work, so that probably has bled into the way I read for enjoyment. I do also think this stretches back to my uni days when I would want to make sure I didn’t miss anything pivotal in what I was studying, especially if I planned on using that book for my essays.

    I’m actually slightly jealous of anyone who can go through multiple books at once and not be taken out of its specific world/story so easily. Darn my simple, single-tracked mind!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I completely agree with you! If it wasn’t for college, I wouldn’t read more than one book at a time. It’s just too difficult to hop from one book to another without losing interest in at least one of the storylines.

      Like

Leave a Reply

