Title: Cruel Beauty
Series
Author: Rosamund Hodge
Released: 28 January 2014
Favorite quote: “I was not born to be saved.”
goodreads

Cruel Beauty is one of those novels that has been recommended to me repeatedly on bookstagram whenever I post photos of my latest Beauty and the Beast themed read. When I’ve had so many people in the past tell me that it’s a must-read, I have rather high expectations. When Beauty and the Beast retellings are my favorite to read, it’s impossible for me not to draw comparisons to others that I’ve read. So as I sit at my desk with my pint of peanut butter ice cream (courtesy of my dear friends – Ben and Jerry) and listening to “Evermore” sung by Dan Stevens (Beast) in the new Disney film, let me tell you a thing about why this novel was okay.

The characters didn’t click. I had about the worst time trying to fall in love with the “Beast” of the story. Why? There was no spark whatsoever. Maybe other people read it differently, but the male love interest – Ignifex – fell about as flat as the floor for me. Also, I couldn’t get behind Nyx – the female protagonist. Why? I can’t put my finger on it. She’s strong and thoughtful and rigid, which is a hard combination to pull off, but she does. So why wasn’t I easily slipping myself into her shoes as I read? I think it wasn’t so much her character as it was how she was written. I’m a bit supporter of inner monologues that convey feelings, but the strands of self reflection in this novel just about killed me. They got the point across, but it felt much more character driven rather than plot because of how it was written, when in reality, the story realllllllllly moves because of the amazing plot!

So here’s another thing about this retelling: the plot is freakin’ perfect! I love it and I would recommend it to people based on the awesome happenings of the book (that have little to do with character development, because even though these action/explanation parts of the novel are what develop the characters, I’m looking at what happens as standing separate, and let me tell you: it’s awesome). The background explanation of the world, the Beast, the Sundering, and the “spirits” of the novel are truly fantastic. Towards the end, it felt like I was reading a historical fantasy without romance, which was great (except for the fact that it’s flippin’ Beauty and the Beast/Persephone and Hades…). What I’m saying is that the plot and the background information of the world and everything within it is fantastically done! There were parts that were mind-numbingly predictable, but those didn’t really bother me because the story on a larger scale was definitely not. There were twists and turns that made it all worth it.

If you want to read a good romance, don’t read this. I was disappointed by the lack of sizzle between Nyx and Ignifex… Highly disappointed. However, if you just want to read an interesting take on the original Beauty and her Beast, I recommend this novel for that alone. Hopefully you won’t be let down!

4 thoughts on “Reader Reaction: Cruel Beauty

  1. I love Beauty and the Beast adaptions and this novel has been on my radar. Thanks for breaking it down so thoroughly. A question: should I spend time reading it? I have a lot of books on my “To-Read” list…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

