Title: Amid Stars and Darkness
Series
Author: Chani Lynn Feener
Released: 18 July 2017
Favorite quote: “’Do we?’” [I know this is super boring but I flipped at this line, so if you read it, you might understand why.]
goodreads

This was one of the August reads for a book club that I’m in. I’m not sure if I wouldn’t read it otherwise, even though it sounds like something that I’d pick up for myself. Actually, here’s the synopsis:

Delaney’s entire world is thrown into chaos after she is mistaken for Lissa Olena, an alien princess hiding out on Earth in order to escape an arranged marriage.

Kidnapped by the princess’s head bodyguard, Ruckus, and imprisoned in an alien palace, Delaney is forced to impersonate the princess until Olena can be found. If she fails, it will lead to an alien war and the eventual enslavement of the entire human race.

No pressure or anything.

Factor in Trystan, the princess’s terrifying betrothed who is intent on unraveling all her secrets, and her own growing feelings for Ruckus, and Delaney is in way over her head.

This is one of those books that I’m conflicted about when it comes to saying whether or not I liked it, and here’s why:
1) I felt like the secondary characters weren’t well-developed.
2) It followed overdone tropes that even though I love, I get a little tired of. But again, I love them, so… That isn’t exactly a negative. It’s more a neutral point for consideration.
3) The language bothered me a bit. I don’t know why, but it’s just a personal irritation of mine when the language is too casual in books, even modern YA. That’s definitely not going to be the case for everyone, though.

That being said, I LOVED the story! I couldn’t get enough of it. I started two nights ago just to see what the first chapter was like. Really, I wasn’t that taken in (but it’s only the first chapter, so that isn’t saying anything bad about the book since it’s hard to get hooked by one chapter sometimes). Last night, though, I got into bed with it and didn’t put it down until I finished the epilogue. The story is amazing. So what if some of the plot points are overdone when this was done beautifully? Modern, extraterrestrial sci-fi? Yes, please! Really, it was great. I devoured it and then freaked out when I realized that it’s the first in a series.

One more year to wait until its sequel’s release…

Do I recommend it? Yes. Definitely. It’s a quick, thrilling read that had be internally flipping out for the majority of the night. There were issues with the beginning that really had me questioning whether or not I’d decide to finish (because I absolutely hate when writers do one particular thing and she did that one particular thing for seemingly no reason), but later, it had a reason and I completely understood it (though it still bothers me that it was there). But I won’t go into that because my pet-peeves aren’t your pet-peeves and this was a wonderful, exhilarating read that I think any lover of young adult sci-fi romance would love.

Leave a Reply

